Home » JAMB Brochure for Faculty of Education » JAMB Brochure for Education and Political Science ...

JAMB Brochure for Education and Political Science Under Faculty of Education

This part of the JAMB brochure shows you the requirements to apply for Education and Political Science under the Faculty of Education in Nigeria. You will see the UTME subject combination needed to apply for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, requirements such A’level, ND, HND, NCE, etc for Direct Entry candidates, as well as other information you require to successfully apply for the course.

List of Degree Awarding Institutions that Offer Education and Political Science

  • Abia State University
  • Adekunle Ajasin University
  • Al-Hikmah University
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Anambra State University
  • Benson Idahosa University
  • Delta State University
  • Federal University Gusau
  • Federal University, Kashere
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Ignatius Ajuru University
  • Lagos State University
  • Niger Delta University
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Osun State University
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • University of Benin
  • University of Calabar
  • University of Ibadan
  • University of Port-Harcourt
  • University of Uyo

JAMB UTME Subject Combination

In UTME, note that English Language is mandatory for all courses. The other three subjects required to study Education and Political Science under the Faculty of Education in the institutions listed above are:

Government or History plus 2 other Arts or Social Science subjects

Special Requirements (Waiver) Remarks

(i) UNIBEN accepts one Social Science subject and any other subject.

(ii) OAU requires Govt. and any two of Economics, Geography/Physics and Mathematics.

(iii) IAUED requires Government and any other two Arts or Social Science subjects.

O’Level Requirements for UTME Candidates

To apply for Education and Political Science as a UTME candidate, you require: Five SSCE credit passes or equivalent to include English Language, Government/ History and 3 other

Special Requirements (Waiver) Remarks

(i) OOU accepts TC II with merit/credit passes in English, Mathematics and three other subjects.

(ii) UNIUYO, UNICAL, UNIPORT require at least a pass in ‘O’ level Mathematics.

(iii) OAU requires Five ‘O’ level credit/merit. Credit passes must include Government, English Language and Mathematics or Five TC II credit/merit passes must include English Language, Mathematics and Social Studies.- History is mandatory.

(iv) IAUED, UNIOSUN and UNICAL do not accept History in lieu of Government.

(v) UNIBEN, DELSU, OOU and LASU require ‘O’ level credit in Mathematics. BENIN requires any Social Science subject.

(vi) UNIPORT requires one of Economics, Commerce or Geography/Physics.

(vii) LASU requires Credit Passes in Mathematics.

(viii) BIU requires a credit pass in Mathematics

(ix) DELSU requires credit in Mathematics.

(x) ABSU requires Five SSCE credit passes to include English Language, Government or History and any three subjects, and at least a pass in Mathematics.

(xi) UNIOSUN requires Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or its equivalents with credit level passes in five (5) subjects: English Language and Mathematics to form the core subjects, with credit in three (3) other relevant Art or Social Science subject at not more than two sittings. The candidate must earn an acceptable score in the UTME

Requirements for Direct Entry Candidates

To apply for Education and Political Science as a Direct Entry candidate, you require: (i) Two ‘A’ level passes in relevant subjects chosen from Government or History, Economics and Geography/Physics.

(ii) NCE merit pass in Govt./History, Economics and Geography/Physics.

Special Requirements (Waiver) Remarks

(i) DELSU accepts merit in two teaching subjects at NCE one of which must be Political Science / Government.

(ii) ABSU accepts pass in Mathematics.

(iii) UNIPORT and UNIUYO – No Direct Entry.

(iv) UNIUYO and UNICAL accept NCE merit and above in Political Science or Government plus UTME requirements.

(v) AAU require a pass in ‘O’ level Mathematics

(vi) UNIBEN requires:
2/3 NCE merit passes including Government/History plus 3/2 O/Level passes including English Language and Mathematics at one sitting.

(vi) IAUED accepts two A’ level credit passes in Arts and Social Science subjects. Credit passes in NCE, ND.

(vii) LASU accepts NCE (Merit) in Government/History, Geography, Social Studies or Political Science.

(viii) BIU in addition to the O’ level requirements specified, a minimum of two relevant subjects passed at GCE Advanced level or NCE (3 merits) in relevant field not below credit level is required.

(ix) TASUED requires THREE ‘A’ level passes/NCE Credit/Merit to include Government or History.
*ND/HND with upper credit in Public Administration or Local Government.

(x) OAU accepts two ‘A’ level credit passes including Government and one other Social Science subject. OR NCE with credit/merit passes in Political Science combined with any other Social Science or professional subject.

(xi) UNIOSUN accepts two ‘A’ level credit passes including Government and one other Social Science or Arts subject or NCE and approved equivalents in relevant subjects with at least lower credit may be considered.

(xii) NDU – Same as Vocational and Technical Education.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System

Back to Course FacultyBrowse Other Faculties