House of Representatives

Nigerian House of Representatives

The House of Representatives is the lower house of Nigeria’s bicameral National Assembly. The Senate is the upper house. The current House of Representatives, formed following elections held in April 2015, has a total of 360 members who are elected in single-member constituencies using the simple majority (or first-past-the-post) system. Members serve four-year terms. The Speaker of the Nigerian House of Representatives is the presiding officer of the house.

Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria

The Speaker of the House of Representatives is the presiding officer of the Federal House of Representatives of Nigeria. Sir Frederic Metcalfe of Great Britain became Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria in 1955. He was replaced by the first indigenous speaker, Jaja Wachuku, in 1959.

As Speaker of the House, Wachuku received Nigeria’s Instrument of Independence, also known as Freedom Charter, on October 1, 1960, from Princess Alexandra of Kent (Alexandra was Elizabeth II’s representative at the Nigerian Independence ceremonies). Chaha Biam hails from Ukum Local Government Area of Benue State.

He was elected to the House of Representative on the platform of NPN in the 1983 general elections and was elected as the Speaker of House of Representative in the short lived second tenure of Alhaji Shehu Shagari, October 1, 1983 – December 31, 1983. The speaker is chosen in an indirect election conducted within the House of Representatives. The Speaker is third in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the President of the Senate and Vice President.

[Attributions and Licenses]

This is a lesson from the tutorial, Post-Independence Nigerian Government and you are encouraged to log in or register, so that you can track your progress.

Log In

Share Thoughts