Unity Party of Nigeria

Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)

The party was formed on 22 nd September, 1978. Chief Obafemi Awolowo was the founder of UPN. Other founding members were Chief Ajasin, Chief Bola Ige, Professor Ambrose Alli (1st Executive Governor of the Bendel State), Chief M. C. K. Ajuluchukwu, Alhaji Lateef Jakande, etc.

Chief Obafemi Awolowo was the presidential candidate for the party. The party won governorship election in five (5) states.


  • To provide free education to all Nigerians.
  • To provide free health facilities to all.
  • To provide full employment opportunities.
  • To pursue rural integrated programs.


  • Came second in the presidential election.
  • The party won governorship seats in five (5) states.
  • Provided free education in the states it won.
  • The party served as a formidable opposition to the federal government formed by the NPN.

Continue With the Mobile App | Available on Google Play

[Attributions and Licenses]

This is a lesson from the tutorial, Post-Independence Nigerian Party Politics and you are encouraged to log in or register, so that you can track your progress.

Log In

Share Thoughts