Progressive Peoples Alliance

Progressive Peoples Alliance

The Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA) is a political party in Nigeria. The party won gubernatorial elections in 2003 and 2007 in Abia State. The party also won the governorship election in 2007 in Imo State. The Governor of Abia State is Chief Theodore Ahamefula Orji and deputy Comarde Chris Akomas while the Governor of Imo State is Chief Ikedi Ohakim.

In the 21 April 2007 Nigerian National Assembly election, the party won three of the 360 seats in the House of Representatives and one of the 109 seats in the Senate. Following the April 2007 presidential election, the PPA agreed to join the government of president Umaru Yar’Adua.


The party won some seats at the National Assembly in the 2007 Elections. In the Senate, Senator Uche Chukeumerije representing Abia North Senatorial Zone is the only senator from the party.

In the House of Representatives, the party has two members and these are Hon. Nnanna Uzor Kalu, a two-time member and he represents Aba North/South Federal Constituency. He is the Abia Caucus leader at the House of Representatives and the House Chairman, Sub Committee on Anti-Corruption (Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Matters Commission, ICPC).

The other member is Rt.Hon. Stanley Ohajiruka, a former Speaker of Abia State House of Assembly. He represents Umuahia North/South/Ikwuano Federal Constituency. Mr Ndongo Lukhana a strong Christian power man representing Abiriba community with the party from 2004-2009 until he had a disagreement with the party official and was accused of using his Christianity power against most of the party agenda. He survived assassination late 2010 and his family was targeted as well thereby forcing him to flee the eastern zone with his family.

Also Mrs Maria Udeh Nwachi won under the platform at Ebonyi state House of Assembly while Mr Godwin Ezeemo, Chukwunaenye contested for Anambra State 2017 Governorship election under the platform.

Continue With the Mobile App | Available on Google Play

[Attributions and Licenses]

This is a lesson from the tutorial, Post-Independence Nigerian Party Politics and you are encouraged to log in or register, so that you can track your progress.

Log In

Share Thoughts