Introducing Post-Independence Nigerian Party Politics

Introduction to Post-Independence Nigeria Party Politics

Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) and Nigerian Youth Movement (NYM) were formed as political parties after the introduction of the Clifford Constitution. They could not be said to be national parties.

Their activities were mainly restricted to Lagos. However, at the end of the Second World War, new political parties emerged and replaced the NNDP and NYM.

Some of these new parties were in two (2) groups: Major and Minor parties. Some of the major parties were the National Council of Nigeria and the Cameroons (NCNC), Northern People’s Congress (NPC), and Action Group (AG). Some of the minor parties were the Northern Elements Progressive Union (NEPU), United Middle Belt Congress (UMBC), Dynamic Party (DP), and Borno Youth Movement.

Most of these parties, if not all, were regional in outlook and based on ethnic sentiments and it can be said that none of them commanded nationwide support. Some scholars have argued that NCNC was more of a national party than others.

However, they were formed mainly to awaken people’s consciousness towards the struggle for political independence.

Continue With the Mobile App | Available on Google Play

[Attributions and Licenses]

This is a lesson from the tutorial, Post-Independence Nigerian Party Politics and you are encouraged to log in or register, so that you can track your progress.

Log In

Share Thoughts