All Nigeria Peoples Party

All Nigeria Peoples Party

The All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) was a political party in Nigeria. Under the leadership of Late Chief Edwin Ume-Ezeoke, its candidate in the presidential elections of 19 April 2003, former military ruler Muhammadu Buhari, won 32.2% of the vote. Buhari was again the ANPP candidate in the 2007 presidential election, taking second place and about 18% of the vote according to official results.

The party assumed a new leadership following its September 2010 National convention in Abuja. A successful convention was held at Eagle Square in Abuja under the leadership of Yobe State Governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Gaidam FNCA,CPA where former Governor of Abia Chief Dr.Christopher ogbunnaya onu has emerged the National Chairman of the party.

Other National officers are Hon. lawan Shettima Ali’s National Secretary, Mr. Wale Olatunji as Deputy National Secretary, Chief John Oyegun Deputy National Chairman South, Dr. Yusuf Musa Deputy National Chairman North, Hajjia Ramatu Tijjani National Women Leader, Tony Udoakan, National Youth Leader, Emma Eneukwu National Publicity Secretary, Hajjia Fatima Muhammed, National Financial Secretary.

The ANPP is the household party in the extreme north of Nigeria, primarily due to its mass appeal. It is the strongest opposition party, controlling seven of the nation’s thirty-six states. The party’s biggest achievement in the 2003 election was its gubernatorial victory in Kano State where it defeated the ruling People’s Democratic Party to take control of one of the country’s most populous states.

Following the 2007 election, the ANPP challenged the victory of Umaru Yar’Adua and his People’s Democratic Party, although it was announced on June 27, 2007, following talks, that the ANPP had agreed to join Yar’Adua’s government. There was reportedly disagreement within the ANPP about the talks. Buhari subsequently denounced the idea in a BBC interview and suggested that the decision was only made by part of the party, alleging that they were “just looking for jobs for themselves”.

In February 2013 the party merged with the Action Congress of Nigeria, the All Progressives Grand Alliance, and the Congress for Progressive Change to form the All Progressives Congress.

Continue With the Mobile App | Available on Google Play

[Attributions and Licenses]

This is a lesson from the tutorial, Post-Independence Nigerian Party Politics and you are encouraged to log in or register, so that you can track your progress.

Log In

Share Thoughts