Home » School News » UNIBEN 2017/2018 Admission Into Postgraduate Programmes (In Partnershi...

UNIBEN 2017/2018 Admission Into Postgraduate Programmes (In Partnership with NILDS)

NILDS/UNIBEN 2017/2018 Admission Into Postgraduate Programmes

The University of Benin, in affiliation with the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS), Abuja, offers programmes leading to the award of masters degrees in Legislative Studies and Legislative Drafting. NILDS is the capacity building organ of the National Assembly; it was established by an Act of Parliament. It works to support and strengthen the legislature in the pursuit of the ideals of democracy through research, training, legislative support, advocacy and networking.

Beautiful Nigerian University Campuses - See Photos

Applications are hereby invited from suitably qualified candidates for admission into the legislative Postgraduate programmes of the University of Benin/National Institute for Legislative Studies. The University of Benin awards the degrees while the programmes are run at the facilities of the National Institute for Legislative Studies in Abuja by academic staff of the two institutions and renowned practitioners in the democratic and legislative process.

A. Distance Learning Programmes

The Institute, in affiliation with the University of Benin, invites applications from suitably qualified candidates for admission into its NILDS/UNIBEN Distance Learning Programme:

i. POSTGRADUATE DIPLOMA IN LEGISLATIVE DRAFTING (PGDLD): Seeks to introduce participants to the techniques in legislative drafting for good governance.

B. Admission Requirements

To be eligible for admission into Distance Learning Postgraduate Diploma in Legislative Drafting (PGDLD), a prospective candidate should possess:

i. At least 5 credit passes at the Ordinary Level WASSC, including English
Language in not more than two sittings, or at least 5 merit passes in the
Teachers Grade 11 certificate including English Languate;

ii. Be a holder of Bachelor’s Degree in Law, not below a 3rd Class Division,
in the areas of Law, from a recognized institution; relevant professional

C. Duration of Programmes

The duration of the Distance Learning Postgraduate Diploma Programme is
12 months or a minimum of 2 Semesters.

For details, download the entire advertisement at www.uniben.edu


Candidates are to purchase application forms online with any valid VERVE OR MASTER ATM for the sum of N20,000.00.

The form must be correctly filled with all information required as indicated in the instruction before submitting online and thereafter printed out from the Uniben Website, www.uniben.edu. The following documents will be printed out from the Website:- application and referee forms. Any form not properly filled will not be treated. All application processes must be completed latest Wednesday 30th April, 2018.

Note: Only Passport with red background is accepted.


O.A. Oshodin (Mrs)

For further enquiries regarding admission and application please check:
www.postgraduate.NILDS.gov.nghttp://www.postgraduate.NILDS.gov.ng/and/or www.myuniben.org


The University of Benin was founded in 1970.

It started as an Institute of Technology and was accorded the status of a full-fledged University by National Universities Commission (NUC) on 1 July 1971.

In his Budget Speech in April 1972, the then Military Governor of Mid-Western State, Col. S. O. Ogbemudia (then also Visitor to the University) formally announced the change of the name of the Institute of Technology to the University of Benin.

Optometry program was also founded (established) within the Faculty of Science in 1972 under the headship of Dr.Paul Ogbuehi (department of Physics).

By 1976, optometry program in Uniben had on its faculty qualified professional with practice licences from Canada, England, and United States of America.

The program had a faculty-student ratio of 2:1, many from College of Medicine and Medical Sciences. earned its accredited On 1 April 1975 the University at the request of the State Government, was taken over by the Federal Government and became a Federal University.

Today, the University has continued to grow from strength to strength with a number of Faculties, Departments, Institutes and Units.Following NUC’s directives, the University experimented with the Collegiate System in 1991/92 and 1992/93.

However, in the light of new developments, the University reverted to the Faculty System except for the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Basic Medical Sciences, and Institute of Child Health which reverted to the Collegiate System in August, 1999, with a Provost as its administrative head.

The Faculties as presently constituted are those of Agriculture, Arts, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Science, Pharmacy, Physical Science, Social Science, and the College of Medical Sciences (which has three Schools: Basic Medical Sciences; Dentistry and Medicine; and the Institute of Child Health).


Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest updates delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.

See More Under:

Leave Your Comment