Nigerian Scholars » School News » UNIBEN Graduates 8237 Students, 118 Bag First Class

UNIBEN Graduates 8237 Students, 118 Bag First Class

UNIBEN Graduates 8237 Students, 118 Bag First Class

University of Benin (UNIBEN) 39th and 40th convocation ceremonies held between Wednesday 19th to Sunday, 23rd November, 2014 saw a total of 16,458 graduands received their first degree certificates with 118 students bagging first class degrees.

The graduating students comprises of 8,237 for the 2011/2012 class and 7,839 for 2012/2013. Speaking at the event, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Godwin Osayuki Oshodin, said that a total of 3,552 graduands were admitted into Post-Graduate diplomas and other higher degrees.

For 2011/2012 session, 103 graduands bagged Doctorate degrees, while 1,933 were awarded Masters’ degrees. Among the 2012/2013 Post-Graduate graduands, 27 bagged Ph.D; 449, Masters’ while 40 graduands were awarded Post-Graduate Diplomas.

There were 462 Undergraduate Diplomas for 2011/2012 and 382 for the 2012/2013 class. The Vice-Chancellor expressed gratitude to the Federal Government for the special attention it gave to the University and congratulated the graduating students on their convocation.

One of the highlights the Convocation was the conferment of Honorary degrees on four eminent Nigerians, including Reverend M. A. Okpebholo, Chief Sam Igbe, Senator Daisy Danjuma and Mr. Tony Elumelu. Other highlights were the conferment of Professor Emeriti on Professors Reginald Ofoegbu and Thomas Audu, and the presentation of prizes to deserving graduands.

Congratulations to the outstanding students.

What You May Want to Know about UNIBEN

The University of Benin was founded in 1970. It started as an Institute of Technology and was accorded the status of a full-fledged University by National Universities Commission (NUC) on 1st July, 1971. In his Budget Speech in April 1972, the then Military Governor of Mid-Western State, Col. S. O. Ogbemudia (then also Visitor to the University) formally announced the change of the name of the Institute of Technology to the University of Benin. On 1st April, 1975 the University at the request of the State Government, was taken over by the Federal Government and became a Federal Government and became a Federal University.

Today, the University has continued to grow from strength to strength with a number of Faculties, Departments, Institutes and Units.Following NUC’s directives, the University experimented with the Collegiate System in 1991/92 and 1992/93.

However, in the light of new developments, the University reverted to the Faculty System except for the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Basic Medical Sciences, and Institute of Child Health which reverted back to the Collegiate System in August, 1999, with a Provost as its administrative head. The Faculties as presently constituted are those of Agriculture, Arts, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Science, Pharmacy, Physical Science, Social Science, and the College of Medical Sciences (which has three Schools: Basic Medical Sciences; Dentistry and Medicine; and the Institute of Child Health).

In January 2006, the Federal Government approved the take off of the College of Petroleum and Gas Engineering of the University of Benin at Effurun, near Warri, in Delta State, with the initial population of 100 students in two departments; Petroleum Engineering and Gas Engineering.

The University offers courses at various levels: Postgraduate, Undergraduate, Diploma and Certificate. Presently, the total student enrolment stands at over 40,000 made up of both full-time and part-time students shared among the various Faculties.

See More Under:

Leave Your Comment