Home » School News » OOU 23rd/24th Convocation Ceremonies’ Notice To Graduands

OOU 23rd/24th Convocation Ceremonies’ Notice To Graduands

OOU 23rd/24th Convocation Ceremonies’ Notice

The OOU 23rd/24th Convocation Ceremonies for the 2012/2013 & 2013/2014 Academic Sessions have been scheduled for Tuesday 6th to Saturday 10th October, 2015 by the University Authorities.

Activities lined up for the Ceremonies and Information to graduands on collection of Gowns and Certificates are as highlighted below.

MONDAY 5TH OCTOBER, 2015:- Rehearsal for staff and all graduating students – 12.00pm – 2.00pm

Convocation Drama: “Mammy Water’s Wedding” 3.00pm – 5.00pm.

TUESDAY 6TH OCTOBER, 2015:- Convocation – Faculties of Sciences, Education, Law, Pharmacy, College of Health Sciences, Basic Medical Sciences, College of Engineering and Environmental Studies – 10.00am.

WEDNESDAY 7TH OCTOBER, 2015:- Convocation – Faculties of Arts, Social and Management Sciences, College of Agric. Sciences, Master Degrees and Post-Graduate Diplomas. – 10.00am

SATURDAY 10TH OCTOBER, 2015:- Commissioning of Projects 9.00 – 10.00am,

Convocation—Doctorate Degrees and Conferment of Honorary Degrees. – 10.00am

Notice To Graduands
Graduands (B.Sc, M.Sc./PGD) who have not paid N20,000.00 clearance fee will pay a sum of N36,000.00 for Academic Gowns, Convocation Brochures, and Scrolls through POS in any of the Bursary Departments of the University Campuses (Ibogun, Ayetoro, Ikenne and Main Campus) while the University will refund N6,000.00 on return of Academic Gowns.

Graduands who have paid N20,000.00 clearance fee will have to pay N16,000.00 for the same purpose as stated above through the recommended payment channels.
PHD candidates will have to pay N65,000.00 from which N25,000.00 is refundable while those desirous of keeping their Academic Gowns will pay N60,000.00 only.

Meanwhile, College Secretaries/Faculty Officers are expected to commence issuance of Academic Gowns to graduands from Monday 28th September, 2015 in their respective Colleges/Faculties while graduands from Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Engineering and Agriculture Sciences will collect theirs at the Directorate of Students Affairs.

However, the University warns graduands that all Academic Gowns collected must be returned in good condition latest by Wednesday 16th October, 2015 to enable them merit the refundable deposit of N6,000.00 to be credited to their various bank accounts.

It stressed further that any graduand who fails to comply with the above condition within the stipulated deadline will be made to pay a penalty fee of N6,000.00 per week.

All guests gracing the ceremonies are expected to be seated by 9.00am on the convocation days.

About Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU)

OOU News UpdatesOlabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, is a state-owned and -operated university in Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State Nigeria.

The University was founded July 7, 1982 as Ogun State University and was renamed Olabisi Onabanjo University on May 29, 2001 in honour of a great citizen of the state, Chief (Dr.) Olabisi Onabanjo, whose efforts as the then civilian governor of Ogun State gave birth to the University.

The University, since its inception in 1982, has had a total output of 10,291 graduates and 1,697 postgraduates.

The university is operated on a multiple-campus basis. The Main Campus in Ago-Iwoye is popularly called Permanent Site (PS) by the students and a Mini Campus which is home to the Science Department. Agriculture is in Aiyetoro, Engineering is in Ibogun, Medicine is in Shagamu, Mass Communication in Ijebu-Igbo and Pharmacy and Biochemistry in Ikenne.

The university is undergoing some reforms and restructuring. Some alumni have started doing responsible things for the school, e.g., there is now an e-library, new accounting department block, new law library, law clinic, a moot court, a senate building (under construction).

The university is privileged to have the best law, medicine, sciences and other degree programmes in Nigeria. The governor of the state is doing his best to develop OOU to an international standard. Students and alumni of the Olabisi Onabanjo University are addressed as ‘Great OSUITES.’ This term usually gives a feeling of belonging to both the addresser and addressee.

The institution has had four vice chancellors since inception: late Prof. John Olubi Sodipo, November 1982–December 1990; Prof. T. O. Bamkole, January 1991–March 1995; Prof. O Y. Oyeneye, April 1995–November 1999; Prof. Layi Ogunkoya, November 1999–March 2001; and Prof. Afolabi Soyode, April 2001. The acting vice chancellor is Prof. Sofola Olusoga.

The current Vice-Chancellor of Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State is Professor Saburi Adejimi Adesanya  (as of today) The university has seven departments and three colleges. The university has greatly contributed in the development of the primary local government of Ago-Iwoye.


Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest updates delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.

See More Under:

Leave Your Comment