Home » School News » Full List of Nigerian Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Educa...

Full List of Nigerian Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education

Very few Nigerian students know about the number of tertiary institutions and universities available in Nigeria. Here is a complete list of universities, polytechnics and colleges of education in Nigeria. Nigeria is organised into 36 states and a federal capital territory (FCT) in Abuja. As a result of the oil boom years of the 1970s, tertiary education was expanded to reach every subregion of Nigeria. The federal government and the state governments were previously the only bodies licensed to operate universities. Recently, licenses have been granted to individuals, corporate bodies and religious bodies to establish private universities in the country. The National Universities Commission (NUC) is the major accreditation body that enforces uniform standard and sets admissions capacity of every university in Nigeria.

Find out 7 Ways to Prepare for the University Environment in Nigeria by clicking here

Nigerian Universities 

• University of Abuja
• University of Agriculture, Abeokuta


• University of Ado-Ekiti


• University of Benin


• University of Calabar


• University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti


• University of Ibadan


• University of Ilorin


• University of Jos


• University of Lagos


• University of Maiduguri


• University of Mkar, Mkar


• University of Nigeria


• University of port-harcourt


• University of Technology, Akwa-Ibom


• University Of Uyo


• Abia State University, Uturu


• ABTI-American University of Nigeria


• Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University


• Adamawa State University, Mubi


• Adekunle Ajasin University


• Ahmadu Bello University


• Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo


• Ambrose Alli University


• BStudents and exam malpracticesock University


• Bayero University, Kano


• Bells University


• Benson Idahosa University


• Bowen University, Iwo


• Cetep City University, Lagos


• Covenant University


• Crawford University,Oye Ekiti


• Cross River University of Technology


• Delta State University, Abraka


• Ebonyi State University


• Enugu State University of Science & Technology


• Federal University of Technology, Akure


• Federal University of Technology, Minna


• Federal University of Technology, Owerri


• Federal University Of Technology, Yola


• Gombe state University,


Tudun, Wada


• Igbinedion University, Okada


• Imo State University


• Joseph Ayo Babalola University


• Katsina State University


• Kogi State University, Anyigba


• Ladoke Akintola University of Tech.


• Lagos State University


• Lead City University


• Michael Okpara University


• Nasarrawa State University


• National Open University


• Niger Delta University


• Nigerian Defence Academy


• Nnamdi Azikiwe University of Agriculture, Umudike


• Obafemi Awolowo University, ile-ife


• Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye


• Osun State University


• pan African University, Lekki


• plateau State University


• Redeemer’s University


• Renaissance University, Enugu


• Rivers State University of Science and Technology


• Salem University, Lokoja


• St. paul’s University College, Awka


• Theological College of Northern Nigeria,Bukuru


• Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode


• Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto


• Wesley University, Ondo


• Anambra State University, Anambra

Discover 3 things every freshman should guard against as they enter into the university in Nigeria



Nigerian polytechnics


• Abia State polytechnic


• Adamawa State polytechnic, Yola


• Akanu Ibiam Federal polytechnic, Unwana


• Allover central polytechnic, Sango-Ota Ogun State


• Akwa Ibom State polytechnic


• Auchi polytechnic, Auchi


• Dorben polytechnic (formerly Abuja School of Accountancy and Computer Studies)


• Delta state polytechnic, Ozoro


• Federal polytechnic, Ado – Ekiti


• Federal polytechnic Offa


• Federal polytechnic Bida


• Federal polytechnic, Bauchi


• Federal polytechnic, Idah


• Federal polytechnic, Ilaro


• Federal polytechnic, Damaturu


• Federal polytechnic, Nassarawa


• Federal polytechnic, Mubi


• Federal polytechnic, Nekede


• Federal polytechnic, Oko


• Federal polytechnic, Ede


• Federal polytechnic, Birnin-Kebbi


• Federal coll. of Animal health & production Tech., Ibadan


• Gateway polytechnic Saapade


• Hussaini Adamu Federal polytechnic, kazaure


• Institute of Management Technology, Enugu


• Kaduna polytechnic


• Kano State polytechnic, Kano


• Kwara State polytechnic


• Lagos City polytechnic


• Lagos City Computer College


• Lagos State polytechnic


• Niger State polytechnic, Zungeru


• Nigerian Coll. of Aviation Tech., Zaira


• Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron


• Moshood Abiola polytechnic, Abeokuta


• Nuhu Bamalli polytechnic, Zaria, Kaduna State


• Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke


• Osun State polytechnic, Iree


• Ramat polytechnic, Maiduguri


• River State polytechnic, Bori


• Rufus Giwa polytechnic, Owo


• Shaka polytechnic


• The polytechnic, Ibadan


• Yaba College of Tech.

Explore 8 Ways to plan for a successful semester in any Nigerian university or tertiary institution here



Nigerian Colleges of Education 


• Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education


• Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo


• College of Education, Agbor


• College of Education, Afaha-Nsit


• College of Education, Akwanga


• College of Education, Ekiadolor


• College of Education, Ikere Ekiti


• College of Education, Katsina Ala


• College of Education, Zuba


• College of Education, Oro, Kwara State


• College of Education, Azare


• College of Education, Warri


• College of Education, Agbor


• College of Education, Akwanga


• College of Education, Gindiri


• College of Education, Katsina-Ala


• FCT College of Education, Zuba


• Federal College of Education, Zaira


• Federal College of Education, Okene


• Federal College of Education, Akoka


• Federal College of Education, Omoku


• Federal College of Education (Special), Oyo


• Federal College of Education, Zaria


• Federal College of Education (Technical) Gombe


• Federal College of Education, Obudu


• Federal College of Education, pankshin


• Federal College of Education, (Technical) Bich


• Federal College of Education (Technical) Gusau


• Federal College of Education, Yola


• Kano State College of Education, Kano


• Kwara State College of Education


• National Teachers Institute, kaduna


• Nwafor Orizu College of Education


• Osun State College of Education, Ilesa


• Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun


• Oyo State College Of Education, Oyo


• Rivers State College of Education



Find out 7 Ways to Prepare for the University Environment in Nigeria by clicking here

Let your friends know about the choices available to them by SHARING this with them.


Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest updates delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.


  • Ayo Joseph

    Ondo City Polytechnic is also one of the federal government licensed Polytechnic in Nigeria. The Polytechnic is currently on Jamb.Enlist the Polytechnic among your school list for update. You can visit www.odcitypoly.com.ng for details about the Polytechnic.

  • Ofem Ofem Isanda

    In the list of Nigeria polytechnics, the cross river state institute of technology and management is not included. Please can you clarify us on that. Thank you