Home » School News » Borno, Yobe, Adamawa Govts Commend Etisalat Over Education Support

Borno, Yobe, Adamawa Govts Commend Etisalat Over Education Support

According to media reports, Nigeria’s leading innovative telecommunications company, Etisalat has been commended by the Governors of Borno, Yobe, and Adamawa states for its contribution towards education in the country during the recent “Community School Support Programme (CSSP)” by the Telco.

The Governors gave their commendations through their Commissioners of Education and praised Etisalat for pursuing causes that serve the interest of different societies in which it operates. They identified investment in education as one fundamental way to secure a progressive future while advancing the cause of the larger society.


“Today, if we are not mindful of the education sector, tomorrow, we will have incompetent lawyers and as a result and people will lose their liberty, we are going to have incompetent doctors, and as a result, people will lose their lives, we are going to have incompetent engineers and as result, bridges and houses will collapse, roads will fail. If we are to be called a civilized society, we should take time and make sacrifices for the future. This is the lesson Etisalat is teaching us. Etisalat as a corporate organization is mindful of its social responsibility,” they said.

The Vice President, Regulatory and Corporate Affairs, Etisalat Nigeria, Ibrahim Dikko, said the partnership is intended to enhance ongoing efforts aimed at making basic education available and sustainable.

The initiative featured donation of Back-to-School kits, including school uniforms and bags, to pupils drawn from 10 primary schools in the states and forms part of the company’s multi-faceted Community Support Programme that is committed to giving value to communities through various intervention programmes covering sectors that affect Nigerians.


The beneficiary schools were; Yerwa Practising Primary School, Abbaganaram Primary School and Bulumkutu Primary School all in Borno State; Katuzu Community School, Gashua, Central Primary School, Potiskum, and Lawan Kawuri Primary School, Geidam, all in Yobe State; and, Wuro Hausa Primary School, Yola Town, Community School, Demsa, and Tudun Wada Primary School, Mayo Belwa in Adamawa State.


Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest updates delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.

Leave Your Comment