Home » School News » Barewa College Zaria – Known For Producing 5 Nigerian Presidents

Barewa College Zaria – Known For Producing 5 Nigerian Presidents

Barewa College,Zaria, Kaduna State, is one of the largest boarding schools in Nigeria and was the most celebrated post primary school in Northern Nigeria up to the early 1960s.

It was founded in 1921 by British Governor General Hugh Clifford and was originally known as Katsina College before it switched its name to Kaduna College in 1938 and then Government College, Zaria in 1949 before settling on Barewa College.

The school is known for the large number of elites from the region that passed through the school’s academic buildings and counts among its alumni, five of whom were at one time Nigerian Heads of State.

barewa college graduatesThe heads of state include; Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa-Balewa, Prime Minister of Nigeria from 1960 to 1961; General Yakubu Gowon (retd.), Military President from 1966 to 1975; General Murtala Mohammed, Military President from 1975 to 1976; Alhaji Shehu Shagari, President of Nigeria from 1979 to 1983; Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, President of Nigeria from 2007 to 2010.

Other notable graduates of Barewa College, Zaria are Alh. Ahmadu Bello, Premier of Northern Nigeria from 1954 to 1966; Sultan Sa’adu Abubakar, Sultan of Sokoto; Mallam Adamu Ciroma, 3-time Minister (Industries; Agriculture; and Finance); Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai, Governor of Kaduna State; Prof. Jubril Aminu, 2-time Minister (Education; Petroleum and Mineral Resources); Hon. Justice Idris Legbo Kutigi, Hon. Justice Uwais, Hon. Justice Mohammed Bello, all former Chief Justices of Nigeria, among others. (CampusportalNG)


Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest updates delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.