DID YOU KNOW? You Can Secure Admission Into 200 Level to Study in Any University of Your Choice | NO JAMB | LOW FEES | FIND OUT MORE | Call 08106304441

Nigerian Scholars » Scholarships » Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grants for Developing Co...

Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grants for Developing Countries

Application Deadline: 1st September, 2018

Applications are currently ongoing for the Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grants for Developing Countries. Interested students should see the details below.

Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grants for Developing Countries

Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grant Details and FAQs

Applications are open to postdocs who are pursuing research or teaching at a higher education institution/university in a Non-European developing country and who were in receipt of a grant in Austria which was administered by the OeAD-GmbH (formerly ÖAD).

At the time of taking up the grant at least 5 years must have passed since the last scholarship-supported study or research stay in Austria.


  • to promote scientific secondary growth
  • to promote scientific cooperation
  • to build a sustainable network of academics with relation to Austria

Applications for Ernst Mach follow-up Grants are open to international post-Doctorate Scholars who are pursuing research or teaching at a higher education institution/university. 

When is the application deadline?

  • 1st February 2018
  • 1st September, 2018

What are the eligible fields of study?

Natural Sciences, Technical Sciences, Human Medicine, Health Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts.

What are the eligible countries?

Afghanistan; Algeria; American Samoa; Angola; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Belize; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia; Botswana; Brazil; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cabo Verde; Cambodia; Cameroon; Central African Republic; Chad; Chile; China; Colombia; Comoros; Congo; Congo – Democratic Republic of the; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Cote D’Ivoire; Cuba; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Fiji; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; India; Indonesia; Iran – Islamic Republic of; Iraq; Jamaica; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kiribati; Korea – Democratic People’s Republic of; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People’s Democratic Republic; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libya; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Marshall Islands; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Micronesia – Federated States of; Mongolia; Montserrat; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nauru; Nepal; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Niue; Pakistan; Palau; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Rwanda; Saint Helena; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; South Sudan; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Suriname; Swaziland; Syrian Arab Republic; Tajikistan; Tanzania – United Rebublic of; Thailand; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tokelau; Tonga; Tunisia; Turkmenistan; Tuvalu; Uganda; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Viet Nam; Wallis and Futuna; West Bank and Gaza Strip; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

In which host country will I be studying?


What is the course level?

Research Grants PhD

How do I know if I’m eligible for the scholarship?:

  • Maximum age: 50 years
  • For the application deadline February 1, 2018: Born on or after February 1, 1968
  • For the application deadline September 1, 2018: Born on or after September 1, 1968
  • Applicants must not have studied/pursued research/pursued academic work in Austria in the last six months before taking up the grant.
  • Grants in this programme can only be applied for every 5 years

What are the selection criteria?

During the selection process the following criteria are examined and assessed:

  • Purpose of your stay
  • Why did you choose the specific target institution in Austria?
  • Added value of the stay for the partner countries concerned (establishment and/or continuation of institutional cooperation)
  • Prior teaching and research activities

What are the benefits of the grant?

  • Monthly grant
  • Accident and health insurance If necessary.
  • Accommodation
  • Scholarship holders will receive a travel costs subsidy

How long will the scholarship last?

1 to 3 months

How to Apply for the Austrian Government OeAD Ernst Mach Follow-up Grants

Note that the recipients of grants will get the grant contract (Letter of Award and Letter of Acceptance) from the OeAD-GmbH/ICM. The contract covers the following aspects: Start and end dates of the grant; monthly grant rate; grant payment modalities (including a possible travel cost subsidy); compulsory presence at the place of study; performance record; data protection; repayment requirements.

Applications must be submitted at “www.scholarships.at“. Only online at www.scholarships.at. A hardcopy application is NOT possible.

The following documents have to be uploaded together with the online application at www.scholarships.at:
• Consent of the academic partner in Austria
• Scan of your passport (page with the name and photo)
• Proof of employment by the home institution
• Curriculum Vitae
• Scan of university graduation certificate of PhD or doctoral studies

Program Webpage

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest scholarships and opportunities delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.

See More Under:

Leave Your Comment

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!