Home » Scholarships » Apply For The 2016 Royal Society Pfizer Award

Apply For The 2016 Royal Society Pfizer Award

About the Royal Society Pfizer Award

Applications are currently ongoing for the 2016 Royal Society Pfizer Award which is usually awarded to scientists working in the biological sciences to promote capacity building in Africa.

The Award

Since 2006, with the support of Pfizer Inc, the Royal Society has offered the Pfizer Award to recognise research scientists based in Africa who are making an innovative contribution to the biological sciences, including basic medical science, which contributes significantly to capacity building in Africa.

The Award consists of an £11,000 grant towards a research project that is linked to an African centre of scientific excellence, which would normally be a university, or equivalent research centre, and a personal prize of £1,000.

The Award is presented at a ceremony at the Royal Society. A seminar is also held to celebrate the work of the recipient at which he/she will give a talk about their research and how the Award will affect their progress.



The call for nominations is now open. To nominate a candidate, please download the nomination forms and return the completed forms to awards@royalsociety.org by 6:00pm GMT on 1 February 2016. Nominators should complete Form A. Nominees should complete Form B and attach a copy of their CV and a list of up to 20 of their most important publications.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Biological Sciences Awards Committees. Nominations are valid for one year.

Please read the terms and conditions for this award (PDF) and the general terms and conditions (PDF) for your information.

Past winners

In 2015, to mark the 10th anniversary of the Royal Society Pfizer Award, the programme was expanded to allow two awards: an Early Career Award for a research scientist at an early stage of his or her career showing exceptional promise; and an Advanced Award for an experienced top-level researcher that has made a significant and sustained contribution in both research and leadership.

Dr Gordon A Awandare was awarded the 2015 Pfizer Early Career Award for his achievements in molecular and cellular studies of malaria, including how malaria parasites invade red blood cells and cause disease. Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum was awarded the 2015 Pfizer Advanced Award for his seminal work on viral haemorrhagic fevers, including Ebola, generating the foundation of our understanding of the epidemiology, clinical manifestations and control of outbreaks of these viral infections.

See full list of all past winners of the Royal Society Pfizer Award.

Nigerian Scholars Team

Sharing is caring!

Share Tweet Email WhatsApp

Want to be notified anytime there's a new post? Subscribe here to get the latest opportunities delivered to your email address by Google Feedburner.

See More Under:

Leave Your Comment